CALL FOR NOMINATIONS FOR THE 1985 METTLER AWARD IN THERMAL ANALYSIS

The North American Thermal Analysis Society (NATAS) welcomes nominations for the 1985 Mettler Award in Thermal Analysis. This annual award sponsored by the Mettler Instrument Corporation consists of a certificate, a \$1000 honorarium and a travel allowance of \$400 to the 14th NATAS meeting in San Francisco (September 15–19, 1985).

The award is to recognize and encourage work in and distinguished service to the field of dynamic thermal analysis including but not restricted to thermogravimetry, differential thermal analysis, and effluent gas analysis. A nominee must have performed outstanding creative work in the creation of or refinement of measurement techniques of generally wide interest during the preceeding five years.

The previous recipients of the Mettler Award are:

1968 — R. C. McKenzie	1977 – H. Kambe
1969 – Robert L. Stone	1978 — John Gillham
1970 — Wesley W. Wendlandt	1979 – David Dollimore
1971 — Bernhard Wunderlich	1980 – Joseph H. Flynn
1972 – Ferenc and Jenő Paulik	1981 — Takeo Ozawa
1973 – Edward M. Barrall II	1982 — Jen Chiu
1974 — Jaroslaw Sestak	1983 – Roger S. Porter
1975 — Frank Karasz	1984 – Leo Mandelkern
1976 – Patrick K. Gallagher	

Nominations should include a description of the accomplishments of the nominee that are relevant to the Mettler award. Nominations will be accepted through December 31, 1984, and the award will be announced by April 1, 1985.

Nominations should be sent to:

Professor Robert A. Weiss NATAS Awards Chairman Institute of Materials Science Box U-136 Storrs, CT 06268, USA

J. Thermal Anal. 29, 1984